Am I the only one who uses Safety Mode on Youtube?

I get ton of e-mails every week. Now, I know you can’t weigh e-mails, but if you could I bet it would be close to a ton (maybe.) A lot of the e-mails have a link to a youtube video. Couple that with Twitter links to youtube videos and there are many potential videos that get reccommened to me every week.

Here’s the problem: there are many times when I click on the link I get this picture:

Screenshot 2014-12-15 at 11.41.06 AM

It reads: This video is unavailable in safety mode.

So whatever video I want to watch, I can’t because my safety features are enabled on my youtube account. This begs the question, am I the only one who uses safety mode on youtube? How is everyone else watching these videos? I have looked on youtube for some sort of filtering system where I can change the settings to block language or sexually graphic videos, but I have not found anything. But the question remains, are the people who I follow on Twitter and whose blogs I subscribe to not enabling safety mode on youtube? Do they disable it whenever there is a video they want to see?

Granted, I’m not sure why these videos are blocked. I don’t know how youtube’s criteria for videos. Nor do I want to be accused of being a youtube Pharisee. I enable safety mode for my own sake and for the sake of my family. I will gladly miss out on a video to protect my own heart and my families viewing habits.

It’s just strange to me. Didn’t know if anyone else had come across this predicament. If you have, let me know.

About gavinmcroft

I am a Christian, husband, father, local church pastor and aspiring writer (aren't we all.) Thanks for viewing my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

