My Favorite Books from 2016

I try to keep a healthy reading diet, but I feel that I fail more often than I succeed. I set a lofty goal for the number of books that I wanted to read in 2016, but fell well short. I still read more than I read last year, but I will aim for more next year. books-education-school-literature-48126

Here are a few of the favorite that I read in 2016. Note, they were not necessarily published in 2016, but I read them this past year.

Thoughts For Young Men, JC Ryle: I know, I know, I should have read this a long time ago. It was totally worth it. I really, really liked it.  Short, pithy and convicting. All men should read this book at least once a year. I recommend you buy it for any young man, teenager, graduate or even middle-aged man.

Praying the Bible, Don Whitney:  Another short and easy read but just as powerful. Dr. Whitney gives very practical tips about praying through passages of the Bible and making it a part of your every day prayer life. How many times have you sat at your desk or in your chair to pray and your mind has wandered down every rabbit trail there is. This book will surely help you with this. I would recommend this as a gift as well.

Evangelism, Mack Stiles: Apparently I like short but powerful and convicting books! This book is part of the 9Marks Building Healthy Churches series and it is super practical but also super convicting. Man, I wish all churches could get a grasp of the evangelistic culture that Mack talks about in this book. A healthy church is an evangelistic church. And not just having evangelistic services or “revival” services, but rather an ethos and culture of evangelism from the members. I pray this for my own church and the American church as a whole.

The Conviction to Lead, Al Mohler:  Dr. Mohler has quickly become one of my spiritual heroes (you know we were born in the same town in Central Florida, right?) Dr. Mohler speaks with authority and clarity as one of the top leaders in our day. Just a side not, because I respect Dr. Mohler so much, I would have loved to hear some more personal anecdotes about the struggles of reforming SBTS back in the 1990’s. I hope that one day Dr. Mohler publishes his memoirs so that generations to come will know how hard he and so many others fought to keep Biblical Inerrancy alive in the SBC. If you have never seen this short film published in honor of Dr. Mohler’s 20th anniversary at SBTS, you should watch it.

About gavinmcroft

I am a Christian, husband, father, local church pastor and aspiring writer (aren't we all.) Thanks for viewing my thoughts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

